Skip to content

Now I (sort of) know how the movie stars feel…

April 12, 2013

Just finished an interview with Bob Murray of WTAX (yes, those are really their call letters–very appropriate at this time of year!), the Capitol Radio Group mega-station in Springfield, Illinois, discussing writing in general, the meaning of heroes and even a bit about ROOMER HAS IT. This was the final one of the 28 such interviews I’ve given over the past two weeks, about 20 of them on March 26th, and it’s been a eye-opening experience.

First of all, while the standard time for such guest appearances/interviews is about 10 minutes, two or three went quite a bit longer–both good and bad news. It was good in that, of course, I got to say quite a bit more about the book, as well as about LATE BOOMER (which, technically, was not the subject of these interviews). On the flip side, as I found with public speaking in my tax adviser days, it can get tiring! Funny thing, though, the interview that went the longest was possibly also the most mellow; gee, must have been the interviewer! By the way, the 9-10 minute time frame works pretty well given an experienced interviewer, as most were.

The fascinating part, though, has been the range of interviewer styles and approaches and, I suppose, some of the fatiguing aspect of all this has been the need to adjust and quickly react to both the differing styles of the interviewers and the directions from which their questions come. A few were, frankly, kind of on autopilot and most of their queries stuck pretty close to the cheat sheet that my PR firm provided to all the stations. Easy. Boring. The majority of the interviewers (most of whom were the hosts of morning radio shows) were much more engaged and varied their inquiries to a great extent, some going pretty far afield. These were thought-provoking (for me!) and challenging and tiring but also very satisfying.

I’m happy to say that most of the interviewers were familiar with the story, having at least skimmed or read blurbs about the book, and I’m happier to say that several had read it in its entirety, and thoughtfully. Even better, these folks loved it!  And virtually all of the interviewers, even the less engaged ones (although to a lesser degree) were intrigued with the book’s treatment of revenge/vengeance and most of these interviews elicited talk about the moral aspects of revenge, among other things.

Overall, it’s been a great experience, although the real question is supposed to be whether and the extent to which it will boost sales, not whether or not I enjoyed the experience! On the other hand, as I told one interviewer, I would still write even if nobody read my books, so I guess I’ll keep writing even if the best-seller lists turn out not to be in my future!

As for sort of knowing how the movie stars feel, I can now better imagine what a promotional tour for a new film must be like. On a certain level it’s got to be way cool, especially the first time. But I’m sure it gets old fast.

No complaints from this writer, though!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Robert permalink

    COOLIO!!!

    Robert Gittess

Leave a Reply

