Skip to content

Justified?

June 4, 2013

According to the free online dictionary, “justified” can mean one of several different things, depending of course on the context:

1. To demonstrate or prove to be just, right, or valid: justified each budgetary expense as necessary; anger that is justified by the circumstances.
2. To declare free of blame; absolve.
3. To free (a human) of the guilt and penalty attached to grievous sin. Used of God.
4. Law

a. To demonstrate sufficient legal reason for (an action taken).
b. To prove to be qualified as a bondsman.
5. Printing To adjust the spacing within (lines in a document, for example), so that the lines end evenly at a straight margin.
v.intr. Printing

To be adjusted in spacing so as to end evenly at the margin.
My ancient Random House unabridged dictionary carries five similar meanings but it’s a bit more difficult to cut-and-paste from it….
Since I’m a writer, one might think that meaning #5 is most dear to my heart and indeed it is the setting in Word that I typically use for writing a novel. Since I’m a lawyer, one could also be excused from thinking I tend to favor #4a above the others. But the fact is that these days I’m thinking more of the FX show of the same name. Laura and I came in during year two of the series and watched our latest DVRed episode last night, and once again my bedtime prayers focused on the wish that I be able someday to write like the writers of that show can write! Oh my!
Putting me in that rarefied league was not something Laura said after she’d read the final draft of DEAD ON A RIVAL, although fortunately she very much liked the book. Happy days! It’s months off from publication, though; the much darker WHITE TIE & TALES is almost there,though, just some last-minute wrangling over cover art is keeping it out of your eager (!) hands.
And then there’s the Miami Heat. I’m not a rabid round-ball fan but I do love “our” Heat and the Pacers definitely gave us fits and raised our blood pressure. I think we’ll fare better against the Spurs. We’ll see.
Rainy season is upon us here in south Florida so more reason to stay in and write!
Aloha. And if you’re not already a fan, please check out Justified!
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

