Skip to content

DARK FIRE REDUX

March 28, 2017

Didn’t expect that title, eh?

Well, I just finished writing a screenplay of Havana Homicide for submission to Amazon Studios–no expectations, but hope springs eternal!–and totally enjoyed the (somewhat grueling) experience.  I did a rather good job, according to Laura, who says it’s better than the book.

Anyway, in thinking about what I might do next I decided to try my hand at another screenplay. It’s an interesting change from writing a novel. The form demands you to be way more concise and focused and, of course, also emphasizes dialogue, and I found the experience extremely satisfying. Havana Homicide, much as it’s my fave of the Carina books, is a fairly straightforward story, despite having some interesting twists and turns. So, challenging as it was to write the HH screenplay, I’m going to be a masochist and try my hand at an even more complex story and find out if I can turn that into an equally credible screenplay.

What came to mind pretty quickly was, you guessed it, Dark Fire; Yesterday’s Tears. I’ve been away from it for a while and realized right away that I needed to sit down and read the whole book before even thinking about opening my screenplay software. again.  And what happened next was a very pleasant surprise.  (Recall that DFYT is my only non-Carina novel out there and is based on a sci-fi trope, although it’s basically a love story intended to appeal to non-sci-fi fans, as well as die-hard fans of the genre.)  I sat down, read it in two afternoons AND LOVED IT! It’s a terrific story, told really well.

And that’s what led me to write this post.

If you’re looking around for a book to read I strongly recommend getting your hands on a copy. I  think (and hope) you’ll love it! And remember, DFTY is available in paperback for you e-book-phobes!

Happy spring and summer reading!

D

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

