Skip to content

Maxie and Blossom…and…

April 9, 2022

When I was a kid, my parents knew a couple named Maxie and Blossom. I don’t recall their last name or the names of their two kids, but I do remember an afternoon spent at their modest country house, which included my first (and so far only) ride in a station wagon sitting backwards in the rear.

For reasons unknown, I thought about them recently and realized I loved the sound of their names. Need to do something with that, I thought.

The result is the attached long short story called, you guessed it, Maxie and Blossom.

The story isn’t about that afternoon. Far from it. First of all, it begins during World War II, when Maxie was in the army, stationed in Washington, DC. He’s quite the guy, our Maxie, handsome, charming, very successful with the ladies and, as it turns out, to the detriment of Blossom (a beautiful woman from a wealthy Scranton, PA family, working for a law firm in DC) and their only child, a girl named Darcy, not exactly the man he seemed to be.

I haven’t decided yet what I’m going to do with it, and it likely needs a bit (or more) of editing, but I’ve attached a pdf file fr the heck of it. Feel free to give it a read. Laura Benson, my harshest critic, says it’s the best thing I’ve ever written. You decide!

Oh, and about that and in the title of this post, you might recall my mentioning (or maybe you even read) The Six Wives of Jenny the 8th. I’ve written the sequel–Much Ado About Nadia–and it’s almost ready for publication. I’ll talk about that more in my next post.

Happy reading!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment